Maybe I’m not as cool as I thought?

The following blog post is alarming and will unnerve a lot of you.

My name is Jonny McCormick and I may not be as cool I once thought.

It has come to my attention that I may not be as cool, hip and trendy as I had once expected.  Yes, it has taken me almost 23 years on earth to figure this out.  I’m as shocked as you are about it, trust me.  It’s totally knocked me for six today.

What prompted this revelation I hear you chant?  I went to the library at University, sought out, checked out and read an actual printed version of a journal.  I did not do what I normally do and just read it off the computer.  Wow. Life. Changed.

Having tangible, touchable reading material is brilliant, there really is no substitute.  That’s why I’m uncool (and yes, that is the only reason).  In a world of iPad, Kindle and eBook reader I would still rather hold a book.  There is something wonderfully accessible about the printed word…I just love it.

Long live the printing press.

3 thoughts on “Maybe I’m not as cool as I thought?

  1. AP says:

    But did it come from rolling stacks? That is the true holy grail of journal lust.

  2. pfft. I wish. That’s a pipedream to me. We don’t all study in the hallowed halls AP, you’d do well to remember that.

  3. Alex Pryce says:

    Hah – Oxford doesn’t have rolling stacks – at least that I can access. Some (more commonly used) materials are on open shelves, and the more obscure stuff is held in closed stacks underneath the library, or even in external storage in Swindon. We call it up and some librarian creature runs off to get it.

    Leicester, however, had SPLENDID rolling stacks wherein I had much enjoyment. I did thinks like this: https://img.skitch.com/20110221-m984meb1dgehywh868d1khtsp2.jpg

Leave a Reply

