The Monday Retrospect

What is ‘The Monday Retrospect’?

This is a weekly collection of things that have caught my attention and imagination over the last week.  It is a chance to put into words what I have been doing, thoughts I have been processing, things that are happening.  It’s a bit of a mind dump really.

  • The Legislative Assembly and Local elections are well underway in Northern Ireland.  It certainly is a fascinating time in our country’s history.  Alan in Belfast has composed a list that ‘Charts the Assembly Elections‘ – it provides great insight into who’s who, what’s what, and where’s where!
  • If you’re serious geek like me you’ll want to read about the different types of dashes to use and when to use them.
  • The next month is going to be an absolute roller-coaster.  I love it.
  • “Here is a test to find out whether you mission on earth is finished or not: if you’re still alive it isn’t.”
  • Spring time weather does the soul good.  The essays not so much.
  • A few other people are following along in the same vein as The Monday Retrospect.  There is now a Thursday Retrospect being run by Clamorous Voice and The Friday Retrospect being curated by MetaphoraMetaphora.
  • I’ve just started reading ‘What the Dog Saw’ by Malcolm Gladwell.  It seems like a pretty fun book.
  • I heard Gladwell speak this past year on the subject of Serendipity – what a truly fascinating dude.
  • Yesterday I found my favourite pair of shorts.  I thought they were long gone but they were just hidden!  The summer is looking good!
  • I’ve still got some books available for sale on Amazon.  They’ll likely be available for another 3 weeks or so.  Click to go to my shop.
  • Rory McIlroy – I feel for him.  And, I’m not even that into golf.
  • I’m currently researching the differences (if any) in representative governance and democracy.  if you’ve got any thoughts feel free to jump in.
  • Do you guys often preorder books?  I think I’ve only ever done it once.  I preordered Tribes by Seth Godin.  What have you preordered and why?
  • Check out this awesome looking home library.

That’s it for this week.  What’s going on with you?

Leave a Reply

