The Monday Retrospect

What is ‘The Monday Retrospect’?

This is a weekly collection of things that have caught my attention and imagination over the last week.  It is a chance to put into words what I have been doing, thoughts I have been processing, things that are happening.  It’s a bit of a mind dump really.

  • Well, my first shot at automated posting with WordPress didn’t go exactly as planned.  I had promised to give an update on what apps I use on MBP, iPad and iPhone as a follow up to my Toolbox Essentials Redux.  It didn’t work.  Therefore, I’ll schedule it to post again tomorrow and see what happens.
  • Rev. Dr. Lesley Carroll has launched her very own blog.  You can visit it at RevLesley – Brewed in Belfast.  So far it is an interesting and eclectic read.  Please visit often and subscribe.  Lesley is an important voice in the Northern Ireland Peace Process and a champion for reconciliation and ecumenism.
  • I love this Lego Countertop/workstation.  So cool and I want one.  SimpleDesks has some awesome ideas.
  • Maurilio Amorim begs buisness’ to ask some crucial questions in relation to their marketing/PR strategy.  He frames his question in relation to QR codes .  But, it’s a good idea to ask what value it adds to your consumers and what barriers it removes in connecting with them.
  • Apple is now worth over half a trillion dollars.  That is ridiculous.  However, analysts suggests that they have yet to hit their market peak.  All indictions suggest things will continue going up.  I would guess that the looming iPad 3 release will further bolster their position.
  • The past few weeks my work with FMPCI has been focussed on relaunching our site on the Duncairn Gardens, the Macrory Halls.  This happened on Saturday and went swimmingly well.  The halls looked great.  A great crowd showed up.  We listened to traditional music, ate food and shared hopes for a shared future in North Belfast.
  • Just as music is noise that makes sense, a painting is colour that makes sense, so a story is life that makes sense.―Yann Martel, Beatrice & Virgil
  • I want to get back to reading for pure enjoyment.  Although, I do love all the work for my PhD it can be all consuming at times.  And, it’s not down time.  Not at all.
  • Do you have a growth oriented or a fixed mindset?

That’s it for this week.  Tune in next week for more.  Oh, and, what’s going on with you?

Leave a Reply

